MY name is Aine and I steal books from people and places.

There. Now that that is out in the open.

The back ground for this one is that me, the skinhead and my da were out one day and I came across it. I’d spotted a few chapters dedicated to Andersonstown, Turf Lodge, Ballymurphy and Twinbrook. So it went into the sky rocket.

I can’t say where I stole this from because it’s got a government type sticker inside and I don’t want to be fined for it. Personally, it’s not a book I would buy and I don’t feel bad because in my bad ass book sniffing train of thoughts, the government can afford to replace it.

The author Ken Wharton served here and this is his second of two books telling the stories of British Soldiers who did also.

I’m not going to turn this into a book review because nobody reads them. Or maybe it’s just this blog (yeah that’s definitely what it is).

Anyway, I borrowed this book for infinity years ago and started reading it then. I got in as far as the dedication to every Regiment and man and woman of the U.D.R. This was enough for me and the book sat on various book shelf’s around my house and was left untouched.

But alas, I have tolerance now. I do, I can sit through hard situations without wanting to head-butt anyone. I can listen to opinions that I don’t hold. I don’t stop speaking to someone just because we don’t agree. That to me is tolerance, something I was devoid of growing up in West Belfast. But it’s something we all need to practice in order to move on from the past.

So, I got a good wee bit in last night. Having put in my ear plugs (the Feile dance night was on). Oh how times have changed. I would have been the first one at the bar and now here’s me having busted my balls in work all week, retiring to bed early with a book about Brits to chill out and fall asleep by soft lamp lighting.

My intention is to read this whole book and upload any paragraphs that catch my eye. This may be in breach of copyright but what can I say, in for a penny, in for a pound.

This quote reminded me of the way in which Republicans mourn the Hunger Strikers. Two different armies (three if you count the INLA), all very young men and women fighting for a cause – or wages on the British side and all suffered losses of comrades.

This is a quote that stuck out because the media and the British Government often played down the ‘situation’. But here we have the frontline soldiers contradicting them.

And here’s a quote from a British Soldier who recognises that he was in a war zone and fighting a legitimate army. It seems that the Government has left these men to suffer the mental consequences of fighting their war.

I’m wondering if the story about our house being raided makes the book.

There was a big fluffy Lassie type dog sent up to search our loft. The hair ball was called Lucky. On a mission, Lucky fell through the loft entrance and had to be taken to the vet. My da, a dog lover petted the injured pooch saying: “Not so lucky now are ye?”

