ALAS I have reached the end of an eventful week.  I had three evenings to go to.  All very very different nights with different people and craic was had at each.

//platform.twitter.com/widgets.js

Wednesday: Northern Ireland Press Photographer’s Association Awards in Ten Square

THE brother invited me as his plus one to his work’s annual awards ceremony.  He wasn’t going to enter any photographs because he was working at the Euro’s and didn’t have time.  Luckily for him, his best mate Liam printed his photos and entered them into the competition.  Being a nosey bugger, I already knew most people at our table so introductions weren’t too bad and those I didn’t know, I did by the end of the night.

It was a black tie event and the first time I’ve been to a do with a dress code.  It was also the first time I’ve been home from work, showered, dolled up to the nines and out the door within two hours.  Even impressed myself and have considered advertising my services as a professional plus one.  But I hear that’s frowned upon.

Here’s a list of the winners.  Three of them came from our table.  Oh aye and I even dabbled in a bit of live tweeting because nobody else was, but the Pinot Grigio took hold and things got a bit incoherent.  You can find the list of winners here.

IMG_3265 (Edited)

Friday: Fundraiser for Palestine, The West Club

THIS started off as ‘Aye I’ll go and show my face’ and as usual turned into a mad night.  The fundraiser was organised by the Trade Union Friends of Palestine of which I am a member and regularly go to events.  I started off in my mate Angela’s house where we caught up on gossip over a few vinos.  Then we headed down to The West and had a bit of craic with anyone within ten feet.  My wee brother Ronan came down as well, it was good to see him again.  We hadn’t been out together in ages.  I ended up getting home quite late and considered writing my will on Saturday because I fell asleep with my contacts in and nearly blinded myself.  Then I couldn’t keep anything down. It must have been that last glass of wine that didn’t agree with me.

Saturday: Twitter Girls Night

SINCE joining Twitter, I have made a lot of new friends and had amazing laughs with these girls.  We went to Chopin in St Anne’s Square for dinner and then round to 39 Gordon Street (used to be Yello and now it’s a hipster bar where the staff wear overalls).  I assumed wrongly that Chopin was a Chinese restaurant because of chop sticks – obviously.  I didn’t eat much of the dinner because I was focusing too much on my escape route, should I need to boke.  Luckily for everyone, I was ok and took it easy on the Dark and Stormy Cocktails later.  This is the second time I’ve been out with them.  They all have their own different personalities and are the loveliest girls you could meet.  That’s a lie, they’re all opinionated hallions that love a gargle.  This is them, give them a follow @clairejt, @Misnomer45, @LadyKofBelfast, @Louise4good09, @moi_cheree, @ellyb25, @ChristineN86,  @bysammercer, @pam_chick, @LeahKirkk, @KachelaMurray and then me but you don’t want to follow me, I talk shite.  There’s also three of my new posse that couldn’t make it last night, they too are worth a follow.  @carrutherssocks and @Ca_Leigh and @ElaineYoung94

 

